The Librarians

My 2016 National Novel Writing Month Novel!

Fin has always been content to live a simple life and explore only as far as the edge of the prairie just beyond her village. But a meeting with a mysterious woman will pull her into the forest and introduce her to a world much larger than she’d ever imagined – a world of ancient knowledge written in the trees, strange words written in even older books and men who wish to keep all the world in darkness. As she begins to search for the Library, she will learn the truth about her past and be faced with a choice for her future: spark curiosity or allow stagnation to win over the human race for good.


This past November, I participated in National Novel Writing Month. If you’ve ever thought about doing it, I can tell you unequivocally that it is worth it. I am a chronic quitter. I say that with complete and total transparency, because this is one of the few things in my life that I didn’t quit. Maybe it was because I really was meant to write. That’s very possible. I used to write poems and short stories when I was a kid.

But I think it was because of the amazingly supportive and encouraging nature of the NaNoWriMo program.

I could spend this entire post writing about the experience of writing a novel. Of the ups and downs, the mindfulness of it, the elation of it and the sheer shock of holding something in my hands that I created out of nothing but synapses in my brain. But I think I’ll save that for another post.

For now, know that I am working on the first edit and, let me tell you, it’s brutal.

 

One thought on “The Librarians

Leave a Reply

